Holiday Notice: Chinese New Year 2017

Chinese New Year 2017 – Year of the Rooster (鸡年吉祥)


Chinese New Year is celebrated in?

Chinese New Year is celebrated in countries and territories with significant Chinese populations,
including Mainland China, Hong Kong (officially as Lunar New Year), Macau, Taiwan, Singapore,
Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, VietNam, Mauritius and the Philippines.

Chinese New Year is considered a major holiday for the Chinese and has had influence on the lunar
new year celebrations of its geographic neighbours.

Did you know?

Chinese New Year is also celebrated in many countries outside aisa, these include countries in
Oceania, North America and Europe. Sydney, London, and San Francisco claim to host the largest
New Year celebration outside of Asia and South America.


Home | News