Holiday Notice: Diwali Festival 2010

Diwali will start on Friday, the 5th of November and will continue for 5 days until Tuesday, the 9th of November.


Diwali is one of the biggest festival of Hindus, celebrated with great enthusiasm and happiness in India. The festival is celebrated for five continuous days, where the third days is celebrated as the main Diwali festival or 'Festival of lights'.

Who celebrates?

For most Hindus and Indians, Diwali is the most important festival of the year and is celebrated with families performing traditional activities together in their homes. Deepavali is an official holiday in India, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Mauritius, Malaysia, Nepal, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Myanmar , Fiji , and Suriname.

Did you know?

The name Diwali is itself a contraction of the word Deepavali, which translates into row of lamps.